Being Creative One Day at a Time

Abstract Art

http://www.bubblews.com/news/8400890-abstract-art

My youngest sister is very interested in Art. She took all kinds of classes while in high school. When she was a senior, some of her work was even commissioned for a permanent display at her school. Needless to say, we are very proud of her.

A few weeks ago, she had made some posts on Facebook about a project she was working on. To me, it looked like a bunch of blue and pink paint splashed across a canvas – abstract art. I can’t say I liked it, but to each their own, you know?

I digitally painted the above picture. It’s my first attempt at abstract art. I was going to call it “Angry Monkeys”, but I decided to go with “Autumn Day”. And it was actually much harder than I thought it would be. *sigh*

I’m not an artist and never claimed to be. I like drawing and occasionally messing around with the digital art program, ArtRage. I don’t participate in these activities in the hopes of someday making money creating art (mainly because I have neither the desire nor the talent to do so), I just like being creative. Even if the only person who likes it is me.

I think art is very subjective. I’ll be the first to admit that I don’t know anything about it. But I do know what I like. I prefer more realistic paintings of landscapes, flowers, and still-lives. There are some abstract works that do appeal to me. Not a lot, but a few. But more often than not, they look, to me, like angry monkeys splashed paint on a canvas. No skill or thought at all. And yet they are sold for hundreds, if not thousands of dollars.

Amazing.

I suppose writing is a lot like art. Some of us like award winning literature, historical fiction, epic novels. While others prefer sparkling vampires.

Whether the creator is an artist or a writer, creating paintings or sculptures or writing the next Great American Novel, and whether I like their work or not, I do admire their ability to pull a thought or idea from their heads, sit down, and get it done. I admire their dedication, even if I don’t like what I see/read.

Leave a comment