Being Creative One Day at a Time

http://www.bubblews.com/news/8191059-audio-book-narrators-bahni-turpin

I am not familiar with Bahni Turpin’s acting career, which, according to IMDb, ran from 1987 to 2012 and includes both movies and TV series appearances. Until I looked her up on the Internet, I had no idea what she even looked like. Nor did I really care.

What I know and love about Bahni Turpin is her voice and the fact that she is an excellent and extremely expressive audio book narrator.

I first heard Bahni Turpin narrating while listening to “Calling Me Home”, by Julie Kibler. The story was told through two different women’s perspectives – eighty-nine-year-old Isabelle McAllister, who was read by the very talented Lorna Raver, and her hairdresser Dorrie Curtis, whose story was narrated by Bahni Turpin. Both narrators did a fantastic job and I highly recommend them both.

“Calling Me Home” was the first time I had heard Bahni Turpin read, but I later recognized her voice while I was in the car while my sister was listening to “The True Meaning of Smekday” by Adam Rex. Once again, she did a fabulous job reading the story.

A quick search on my local library’s webpage shows that she has narrated several novels including, but not limited to, “The Mighty Miss Malone” by Christopher Paul Curtis and “The Help” by Kathryn Stockett. I intend to work my way through every story, she is that good.

When listening to audio books, having a decent narrator can be just as important as the novel itself. If you’ve ever suffered through a good book read in a dull, monotonous voice, you’ll understand what I’m saying. And Bahni Turpin is anything but dull and monotonous. Pick up one of the novels she’s narrated today. You won’t be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

