Being Creative One Day at a Time

Futures Past

Today’s question can be found HERE

As a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up? How close or far are you from that vision?

To be completely honest, I never really knew what I wanted to be when I grew up. I kind of meandered through that sort of thing. At times I wanted to be a veterinarian, because I loved animals, sometimes I wanted to be a writer because I liked telling stories. And then there was the time I wanted to be a puppeteer.

Ah, grade school. So long ago. Where did the time go?

I have always loved puppets, so when I was in the sixth grade, I volunteered to help put on a puppet show for the kindergartner and first grade students right before the start of Christmas break. I put a lot of effort into practicing my lines over the previous weekend and was very excited.

The play was called “The Witch that Helped Save Christmas”. I don’t remember much about the story other than the fact that my character, the Witch, somehow helped save Christmas – thus the title – and fell down a lot. I’d ‘trip’ and one of the boys with me behind the curtain would slam two books together. Up popped the Witch and I’d say, “Oops, I fell,” to the general merriment of all.

This happened at least three times. The kids never seemed to get tired of watching me fall. Kids that young apparently REALLY enjoy slapstick. Who knew?

In the last scene, the Witch exited stage left and there was NO slamming books. She reappeared triumphantly, saying, “You thought I was going to fall, didn’t you? But I didn’t! Ha-ha!” Then I ‘tripped’ one final time to an extra loud banging of books.

“Oops… I fell.”

The kids loved it.

I still use puppets to this day and love them as much as ever. But that was the last time I preformed on stage. I guess I wasn’t ready for the Big Time.

Leave a Reply

