Being Creative One Day at a Time

Mouths Wide Shut

Today’s question can be found HERE

Are you a picky eater? Share some of your favorite food quirks with us (the more exotic, the better!). Omnivores: what’s the one thing you won’t eat?

http://www.bubblews.com/news/8179728-mouths-wide-shut

No, I wouldn’t say that I’m a picky eater. When I was growing up, you ate what was put in front of you. That was dinner. Eat or go hungry.

Now, that doesn’t mean I liked everything my mother put on my plate. I absolutely HATED liver and onions. The onions were fine, in fact, I love sauteed onions. But I had a real problem with liver. It’s not just the taste, it’s a texture thing. But, as I said, that was dinner. Eat or go hungry.

Thank God for ketchup. I would never have been able to get through those dinners without something sweet and yummy to mask the yucky taste/texture of the liver. Simply cut up your food, douse it with ketchup, then chew and swallow as quickly as possible keeping the food as far away from your taste buds as you could manage. Repeat as often as necessary.

I tried liver again as an adult a few years ago thinking that my aversion was just a childhood phase. No such luck. I STILL don’t like the taste or texture. But that was dinner. So… eat up.

Please pass the ketchup.

Leave a Reply

