Being Creative One Day at a Time

Writing Prompts

http://www.bubblews.com/news/8186076-writing-prompts

As I’ve mentioned in the About Me section, I have dreams of someday becoming a published writer. I used to write fan fiction for many years and now I am confident enough in my own skills to give ‘real’ writing a shot.

That’s a lot easier said than done, though. Sometimes I just don’t have any ideas and at other times I have ideas but can’t find the right words to express what I’m trying to say. Or I don’t have the time. I’m afraid that that is often the biggest reason many of us don’t seem to be able to get anywhere with our writing.

Lack of time is a real problem for me. Real life gets in the way. A lot. And then there’s the job, the cooking, cleaning, social obligations, the list goes on and on. I often find myself just… not writing. Sometimes months and months go by without me writing a single thing. It’s frustrating because I know that the best way to get writing is to put butt in chair and WRITE.

I often sit down, turn on Microsoft Word and just stare at that blinking cursor. It mocks me. It LAUGHS at me. I hate it.

I’ve found that writing prompts often help when I don’t have any ideas of my own. I used to belong to several writing communities on LiveJournal but I haven’t been very active of late. But I don’t want to write fan fiction anymore. I want to create my own stories.

So, where do you get your best writing prompts? Do you do a random Google search or do you know of some very interesting blogs that offer prompts? I’d love to hear from other writers, whether they’re published or not.

Where do you find your best writing prompts? Magazines? Websites? Blogs? Tell me. I’m all ears.

Leave a Reply

