Being Creative One Day at a Time

http://www.bubblews.com/news/8559152-when-your-body039s-tired-but-your-brain-is-wired

I just heard the grandfather clock in the living room chime the hour. Four chimes. Four in the morning. I’ve been awake for over an hour. *sigh*

I could blame my caffeine intake on Sunday. Instead of my single cup of coffee in the morning, I had THREE, the last one being downed around 4pm. And, in addition to that, I had a 20 oz bottle of Mountain Dew. So, no surprise that it took me much longer than usual to fall asleep.

I could also blame The Walking Dead, which I watched right before bed. Why do I do that? I know that show gives me nightmares. And yet, I always watch it at night.

Probably because that’s the only time I ever have to sit down and watch TV. Having said that, I know I dreamed, but I can’t remember it clearly and I can’t say for certain there were zombies because it’s all a vague mishmash.

My third option would be stress. I’ve had sleeping issues for decades. I often lay down with the intentions or desire to sleep but stay awake far longer than I should because my mind won’t shut off. Or, more often, I wake up in the middle of the night – usually between 3 and 4 am. And can’t fall back asleep.

Like tonight.

I guess I’ll just stay up. It’s not like I have to work tomorrow or anything.

Or, technically, I don’t have to work TODAY. *sigh*

Leave a Reply

